Artist Info | Releases | All posts...


Artist feature: Headman

After several years of intensive producing Headman hardly needs any introduction! Always ahead of his time Robi is at the origin of the punk-funk/ rave disco movement with his mates of DFA and Playgroup a few years ago when releasing his first album It Rough on Gomma Records. After the success of his second album On released in 2006 and that featured a who’s who of music personalities such as Stephen Dewaele of Soulwax, Matt Safer of The Rapture and Erol Alkan, Robi wanted to reach the next level and produce an album showing his maturity in writing and composing — his third album Catch Me, released in 2008.

114-headman-alternative 106label_a 108_cover 104label_a-small 079_label-a 073_label-a 068_cover 071_label-a 038_label-a 029_cover 022_cover 009_cover


Podcast #13: Headman Relish Mix

1. The Units ‘High Pressure Days’ (Headman Rework)
2. The Phenomenal Handclap Band ‘You’ll Disappear’ (Horse Meat Disco Remix)
3. The C90s ’10:01′
4. Joakim ‘Love And Romance And A Special Person’
5. Tiga ‘Beep Beep Beep’ (Headman Remix)
6. Munk – Back Down (Cut Copy Jackmaster Remix)
7. Crazy P ‘Caught Up’ (Still Going Dub Mix)
8. Villeneuve ‘Death Race’ (Discodeine Mix)
9. Inflagranti ‘Ex Ex’ (Headman Dub)
10. Publicist ‘Chain Gang’
11. Headman Feat Dieter Meier ‘Gimme’ (In Flagranti Remix)
12. Datarock ‘The Pretender’ (Holy Ghost Remix Dub)
13. Plastiscines ‘Barcelona’ (Headman Dub Mix)
14. Tape To Tape ‘The Devil Made Me Do It ‘Triology I’

Listen & Download:
Podcast #13: Headman Relish Mix


Headman – Alternative (Single)

Release: 12 December 2008
Cat#: Gomma 114

It’s time again for HEADMANs Power Disco! Three versions of Catch Me If U Can – a a 4/4 heavy drums club track with distorted funk bass and a new wave vocal line that once your heard it will never leave your head. The alternative mix by Headman himself adds a little more groove to the original, while the remix can be located somewhere between Yuksek’s RaveFunk and the Disco of Holy Ghost. Check out the PONEY PONEY remix of Running Into Time (with Don Cash on vocals), the guys who recently released the amazing Cross The Fader track (which was produced by Xavier from JUSTICE).

1) Catch Me If U Can (Alternative Mix)
2) Catch Me If U Can (Testarossa Edit)
3) Running Into Time (Poney Poney Remix)

Download at
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket


Headman – Catch Me If U Can (12″)

Release: 31 March 2008
Cat#: Gomma 106

This is the long awaited new single of Berlin-based dj & producer HEADMAN. Taken from his forthcoming album ‘Catch me’ on Munich’s Gomma records.

HEADMAN aka Robi Insinna can be easily named as one of the leading figures in the new discorockravepunk scene. With friends from DFA and Output records he was one of the first producing so called Punkfunk Disco. His first album “It Rough” on Munich’s GOMMA Records from 2001 still sound fresh as hell. Meanwhile he has developed into one of the leading DJ’s and producers – Being one of the few Non-British artists playing constantly the biggest UK Clubs. Getting props from the major British DJ’s and bands such as Erol Alkan, Soulwax and Jerry Bouthier from London’s “club of the moment” Boombox who have all cooperated with Robi Insinna.

Recently he has been asked to do remixes for FRANZ FERDINAND, ROXY MUSIC, CHROMEO, THE GOSSIP, PONEY PONEY, MYLO and many others. Currently also Headman’s own label RELISH is getting heavy props by kids all around the world. La Musique, La Musique, La Musique…

A1) Dub Version
A2) Vocal Version
B1) Bag Raiders Remix
B2) Tronik Youth Remix

Buy vinyl / download at:
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket


Headman – Catch Me (CD)

Release: 17 March 2008
Cat#: Gomma 108 CD

After 7 years of intensive producing HEADMAN hardly needs any introduction! Always ahead of his time ROBI INSINNA was a pioneer of the punk-funk / rave disco movement with his mates of DFA and PLAYGROUP a few years ago when releasing his first album It Rough on Gomma Records. Since then he developed into one of the world’s hottest remixer who is always two steps ahead of the current music fashions.

HEADMAN’s third album Catch Me again shows the new developments in the HEADMAN sound. He fused his trademark Punk Disco with new Indie influences and a always hard kickin electro beat. Catch Me includes the 2 hit-singles Running Into Time and Catch Me if U Can which already got the props of great DJs everywhere. Catch Me If U Can also appeared on the Kitsuné Boom Box compilation.

The album also highlights the voice of JEREMY KERR of legendary band A CERTAIN RATIO on Dreampieces and of ANTON SPIVAC, who also lent his voice for HEADMAN’s Moisture, on the track Come On. The whole album brings a new breath of life in the world of Pop and dance music, breaking some barriers, mixing up indie vibes with an electro attitude and with a little bit of Bowie and Eno in it too… as it was completely produced in Berlin legendary HANSA Studios where artists such as Bowie and Iggy Pop got their legendary 70ies sound from.

1) Catch Me If U Can
2) Running Into Time
3) New
4) Dreampieces
5) Super
6) Come On
7) Interlude
8) Song 8
9) Two Sisters
10) Hostage
11) Brave
12) Interlude Reprise

Buy CD / download at:
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket


Headman – Running Into Time (12″)

Release: 18 February 2008
Cat#: Gomma 104

Running Into Time is the first single taken from Headman’s third album on Gomma. It’s a very catchy electro rock tune, where Headman displays his love for analog keyboards sounds and drum beats and frames them into a more contemporary pop structure.

Remixes come from LELE (aka Dutch King of raw edits Parra) and Kitsune’s new act AUTOKRATZ.

A1) Running Into Time
A2) Running Into Time (Le Le Edit)
B1) Running Into Time (Autokratz Remix)
B2) New

Buy vinyl / download at:
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket


Headman “On and On” (Video)

Directed by Simon Owens.


Headman – Moisture (12″)


Release: 29 June 2006
Cat#: Gomma 079

Second single from HEADMAN’s much acclaimed new album „ON“. Here come two remixes: One mix by HEADMAN himself: This is RAVE DISCO at its best. And on the flipside: The mindblowin‘ MUSTAPHA 3000 remix. The BOMB. Described by someone as JUSTICE jamming with GRANDMASTER FLASH using the KILLER DRUMS OF A EARLY 90IES NOISECORE combo.

A1) Mustapha 3000 Remix
A2) Album Version
B1) Headman Club Mix
B2) Headman Club Dub

Download at: