Important info

Gomma currently is on holiday!
Since 2016 we stopped our activities and started 2 other labels: Toy Tonics & Kryptox.

Gomma history

Gomma was born in 2000.
Created, curated and directed by Mathias „Munk“ Modica and Jonas Imbery, who later left the label.
Art direction by Mirko Borsche & Thomas Kartsolis aka Smal & Paze.

We released indie disco, new wave funk, weird pop & experimental electronica by artists like
WhoMadeWho, Munk, Headman, The Phenomenal Handclap Band, Moullinex, Mocky, Daniel Avery, Dimitri from Paris, Lele (aka Parra), Tomas „Tomboy“ Barfod, Box Codax (Franz Ferdinand side project) and others.

Munk/ Gomma also produced music for/ with
James Murphy, Asia Argento, The Rammellzee, Peaches, Nancy Whang (LCD Soundsystem)…
We curated compilations dedicated to New Wave Funk & Post Rock: ANTI NY (2001) and TEUTONIK DISASTER (2004)

Art & Graphics:
We made art and visual projects, published the graphic magazine Amore and curated exhibitions in galleries around the world.
Gomma retrospectives have taken place in Munich (Haus der Kunst), Stockholm (Beneath gallery), Berlin (Circle Culture), Tokio (with 032C magazine) and other cities.

Amore Mag contributions by:
P.A.M. , Daniel Josefsohn, Kostas Murkudis, Parra, Nevin Adadalg, Michael Sailsdorfer, Martin Fengel

We produced over 50 different limited editon design shirts.
Designed by Mirko Borsche, Thomas Kartsolis, P.A.M., Kostas Murkudis, Mathias Modica.

We made music for shows, events and campaigns of fashionbrands such as Margiela, Wood Wood, Surface to Air, Chanel and worked for Parisian fashion institution Colette.

Thanks for your attention. You can still contact us at gomma [at] gomma [.] de
Please follow our new adventures with

Press quotes:
„Gomma is the freshest and most intersting German record label.“ (Dazed & Confused/ UK)
„Like a German DFA.“ (NME/ UK)
„Always ahead of it’s time, with an unique approch that make the imprint oustanding“ (The Wire)



Podcast #60: Casablanca Podcast

Gomma Podcast #60 - Casablanca Podcast

We’re currently working on a big project: The Casablanca Reworks EP. Gomma artists have been asked to rework the songs of legendary disco label Casablanca Records. Home to acts such as Parliament, Giorgio Moroder, Cameo, Kiss, Donna Summer! So in January Gomma will release this massive project. Including guestvocals by Peaches.

To prepare you our DJ buddy Manuel Kim did a little cut n paste mix with 100% Casablanca releases from the late 70ies and early 80ies.

1) Parliament – Flash Light (12″ Version) (1977)
2) Stephanie Mills – You Can’t Run From My Love (Manuel Kim Edit) (1982)
3) Mantra – Doin’ It To The Bone (1981)
4) Cameo – Rigor Mortis (1976)
5) Parlet – Pleasure Principle (1978)
6) Brenda & The Tabulations – Let’s Go All The Way Down (Manuel Kim Edit) (1978)
7) Leroy Gomez – Foolin’ You (1978)
8) Lipps Inc. – Funkytown (1979)
9) Skatt Bros – Walk The Night (1979)
10) Giorgio Moroder – Chase (1978)
11) D.C.Larue – Let Them Dance (Manuel Kim Edit) (1978)
12) Donna Summer – Our Love (Lucky Medley) (1979)
13) Space – My Love Is Music (1978)
14) Michael Sembello – Maniac (Manuel Kim Edit) (1983)