Important info

Gomma currently is on holiday!
Since 2016 we stopped our activities and started 2 other labels: Toy Tonics & Kryptox.

Gomma history

Gomma was born in 2000.
Created, curated and directed by Mathias „Munk“ Modica and Jonas Imbery, who later left the label.
Art direction by Mirko Borsche & Thomas Kartsolis aka Smal & Paze.

We released indie disco, new wave funk, weird pop & experimental electronica by artists like
WhoMadeWho, Munk, Headman, The Phenomenal Handclap Band, Moullinex, Mocky, Daniel Avery, Dimitri from Paris, Lele (aka Parra), Tomas „Tomboy“ Barfod, Box Codax (Franz Ferdinand side project) and others.

Munk/ Gomma also produced music for/ with
James Murphy, Asia Argento, The Rammellzee, Peaches, Nancy Whang (LCD Soundsystem)…
We curated compilations dedicated to New Wave Funk & Post Rock: ANTI NY (2001) and TEUTONIK DISASTER (2004)

Art & Graphics:
We made art and visual projects, published the graphic magazine Amore and curated exhibitions in galleries around the world.
Gomma retrospectives have taken place in Munich (Haus der Kunst), Stockholm (Beneath gallery), Berlin (Circle Culture), Tokio (with 032C magazine) and other cities.

Amore Mag contributions by:
P.A.M. , Daniel Josefsohn, Kostas Murkudis, Parra, Nevin Adadalg, Michael Sailsdorfer, Martin Fengel

We produced over 50 different limited editon design shirts.
Designed by Mirko Borsche, Thomas Kartsolis, P.A.M., Kostas Murkudis, Mathias Modica.

We made music for shows, events and campaigns of fashionbrands such as Margiela, Wood Wood, Surface to Air, Chanel and worked for Parisian fashion institution Colette.

Thanks for your attention. You can still contact us at gomma [at] gomma [.] de
Please follow our new adventures with

Press quotes:
„Gomma is the freshest and most intersting German record label.“ (Dazed & Confused/ UK)
„Like a German DFA.“ (NME/ UK)
„Always ahead of it’s time, with an unique approch that make the imprint oustanding“ (The Wire)



Ralph Heidel – Moments of Resonance LP


Hello Gomma friends,

as you might know Gomma records is sleeping. But we have 2 other labels:

Toy Tonics for dancemusic & Kryptox for Jazz, Kraut & Electronica experiments.

Now we released the thrid album on Kryptox. By wonderful young german composer and sax player Ralph Heidel. Music for string quartett & jazzband. We recomend to listen. It’s beautiful and unique music. Inspired by Olafur Arnalds, John Zorn, Post Rock and Radiohead…

And come to Berlin: 9. may 2019
We do a showcase of our new KRYPTOX label at XJazz Festival. 3 Bands: Ralph Heidel Octett, JJ Whitefield, Tenderlonius: facebook event

Best regards
La Crew Gomma


Gomma’s Kryptox at Volksbühne Berlin


Our new experimental label Kryptox will have a major push in 2019. Several new projects.
We kick off with a night at VOLKSBÜHNE THEATER Berlin feat. our artists STIMMING X LAMBERT.. 19.1.2019. Come!


The Phenomenal Handclap Band nominated at Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards 2019

Our 2018 song Judge Not by the Phenomenal Handclap Band
Is nominated as
For the Gilles Peterson Worldwide Awards

Everybody can vote. So would be amazing if I could vote for it and help to make it no.1

Vote here:


Mixmag Label Focus: Toy Tonics

After chosing Toy Tonics as one of the “10 best labels 2017″ now MixMag / UK has written a great feature on Toy Tonics and the label’s background. Read all about it here!


Thank you!

image1 Kopie


MUNK Show on Gilles Peterson’ WORLWIDE FM

Worldwide FM invited Mathias do do a radioshow. They wanted him to play only Gomma, Toy Tonics and Kryptox (our new label) releases.
The show was on air last friday. You can listen to it here online. The funny thing: They call him „the Wes Andersons of electronic music“. Not bad :)


New Munk Song for German compilation


Mr. Munk hasn’t released anything since his last EP on parisian label Correspondant two years ago. He only co-produced records for Toy Tonics artists (and is working on a Neo-Jazz/ Kraut solo album). But he also teamed up with Paul Pötsch. Frontman of leading German indierock band Trümmer. Together they are working on a couple of German indiedisco songs. Great stuff in the making.

As a little appetizer they made a freaky track called “UFO” for the “KEINE BEWEGUNG 2″ compilation of Berlin label STAATSAKT.
A compilation that portraits the new German No Wave, Punkfunk and Indiedisco scene. There is a lot happening in the german underground. Great stuff.
PÖTSCH & MUNK will have more in 2018. #MakeGermanDiscoGreatAgain

Available for purchase on iTunes, Amazon, etc:


Gomma Disco Jams EP2

gomma disco jams 2 Artwork v2

Another EP with essential originator Neo Disco tunes!
LCD Soundsystem’s Nancy Whang, Munk, Pete Herbert and a balearic jam by two obscure German Disco lovers called: The GB’s.

Buy on Traxsource: